Words into Action

Having only spent 3 days at home over the holidays, I decided to go home this weekend to relax, spend time with my parents, and have a few lazy days. Luckily for me a few of my friends are home and were free to grab a quick drink on Saturday night at a new bar in Holland. Catching up with my friends I find is always a great time, especially when I can focus on one or two of them at a time. My friend Erica, as she told me on Saturday, is working on applications to graduate programs in the area. She was telling Jordan and I about her applications, and the essays causing her to think.

She brought up one application that asked the question What outrages you, and what are you doing about it? We went around the table discussing possible answers, and realized that we were seeing a trend. The first part of the question was rather simple: we could come up with plenty of things in life that annoyed and even outraged us: disrespectful people, feeling trapped by our young ages, etc. But the second part of the question was extremely difficult. What are we doing to combat the wrongs we see in our lives?

This question got me thinking about taking action, rather than being passive. As I’m getting more independent and thinking more about the things that are important to me, this is something I need to be thinking about day to day.

Leave a comment